Skip to content
Sign upLog in
← Back to Community

Disable Preview

Profile icon
pkme

Is there a way to disable the mini preview window? Its really annoying on autorefresh, I generally use another window to see my result. But any time I close the preview it stops my replit.

Thanks

Voters
Profile icon
link511
Profile icon
normalF
Profile icon
pkme
Comments
hotnewtop
Profile icon
Bookie0

Screen Shot 2021-03-31 at 12.01.21 PM

Do you mean this preview window? Can't you just drag it down? Or do you mean something else?
Screen Shot 2021-03-31 at 12.01.52 PM

Profile icon
pkme

@Bookie0
Yes, but even if its collapsed, it still refreshes automatically and my editor loses focus.

Profile icon
Bookie0

what do you mean refreshes?

You could use this toggle switch to stop it from refreshing maybe.
Screen Shot 2021-03-31 at 12.30.35 PM


@pkme

Profile icon
pkme

@Bookie0
Where is this toggle you speak of! This is exactly what I need, but it does not appear for me

Profile icon
Bookie0

@pkme
ok check in the .md file, right at the top there is a toggle. If you can't find it, go to account, scroll down to roles, and make yourself an explorer, then it should work! :)
Screen Shot 2021-04-01 at 8.54.53 AM

Profile icon
pkme

@Bookie0
Oh yeah this is only for md files. I want to remove the preview for node projects

Profile icon
Bookie0

@pkme
um well you should be able to do that, but yeah that's only for .md files. But what exactly do you mean by 'remove the preview for node projects'?

Profile icon
pkme

@Bookie0
When you run a node project, it pops up a preview window. When you close the window it stops the server. I want to run the server, but not have the preview.

Profile icon
Bookie0

@pkme
okay could you send me screenshots for how it looks like (when you run it/close window)? And you can always drag the preview tho..

Profile icon
pkme

@Bookie0
I don't have a screenshot, but you can just use this template https://replit.com/@templates/Vanilla-Vite

  1. Hit the run button
  2. Start typing
  3. pause typing
  4. cursor loses focus

There's no way to run the app while having the preview window closed. This behaviour happens even when minimized

Profile icon
Bookie0

@pkme
Hm maybe you can try feedback:
https://replit.canny.io/teams-for-education

Profile icon
pkme

My workaround is:
Inspect the page
Select the webpreview
Delete it

Seems weird I have to do this, but if I don't my cursor loses focus every couple seconds due to refresh.

Profile icon
InvisibleOne

Just drag it to the side until it is really small, then you should be able to work with it mostly being out of your way.

Profile icon
pkme

@InvisibleOne
This still refreshes, and causes my editor to lose focus.

Profile icon
icodeletion

What lang are you talking about?

Profile icon
pkme

@IcynHackz
Nodejs